GRADUATE COUNCIL Minutes of the Meeting of January 12, 2016 3:30 p.m., The Loft, Guillot University Center

The Graduate Council met on Tuesday, January 12, 2016, at 3:30 p.m. in The Loft of the Guillot University Center. Dr. Leah Whitten, Chairperson, presided. The following members were present: Dr. Paulette Alexander, Dr. Lynn Aquadro, Dr. Carolyn Barske, Dr. Joy Borah, Ms. Pamela Boren, Dr. Chris Maynard for Dr. Carmen Burkhalter, Ms. Jill Chambers, Mr. Zach Crowell, Dr. Wendy Darby, Dr. Sandra Loew, Dr. Amber Paulk, Ms. Celia Reynolds, Dr. Craig Robertson, and Dr. Jeremy Stafford. Attending as guests were: Ms. Hillary Coats, Dr. Kelly Latchaw, Dr. Claudia Vance, and Dr. Tammy Winner.

Approval of the minutes of the meeting of October 20, 2015

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Alexander seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the Graduate Faculty Application of Dr. Matthew Barlow

By consensus, the application was approved.

Report from the Graduate Advisory Council

There was no report from the Graduate Advisory Council.

Consideration of the request from the Department of English for a new degree: M.A. in Writing with three tracks: Professional Writing, Rhetoric and Composition, and Creative Writing with new courses: EN 534W, 539, 540W, 545W, 545W, 575W, 602W, 609W, 610W, 615W, 625W, 635W, 645W, 656W, 660W, 691W, and 694W

Dr. Darby moved approval and Dr. Robertson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. This item will req (i)-4(c) 9e t1(n 8€h5(m)17.46 eC /h,)11((per)12)9(, 2016)]TJETBT1 0 0 1 40819 63686)]